Fourth and First Birthday

Dearest Salim,

Today is both your fourth and first birthday. It is the celebration of the beginning of the fourth year of your life and the first birthday you have celebrated at home in my arms. Words fall completely short when I try to express how much I love you and how incredibly blessed I am to call you my son. Hearing you call me mommy (even when you’re waking me up in the middle of the night or when you’re mad and yelling at me) is the greatest privilege and honor of my life and still sometimes brings tears of joy to my eyes. Seeing you splash in the water today, drive your new (motorized) car and run around with your bubble lawnmower is a gift I’ll always remember. I love your spunk, your passion for the things you love (special people, the color orange, construction vehicles and Moana & Blippi mostly), your resilience, the way you don’t let EB hold you back, your sense of humor, and your dancing skills. Every agonizing day of waiting to hold you in my arms was totally and completely worth it. Every heart-wrenching moment of having to cause you pain to take care of your wounds is not quite so bad when you thank me for making boo boos “really better”. EB is exhausting and painful for both of us. But YOU, my babu, you are worth every single bit. You are truly my greatest adventure and the light and love of my life.

First Birthday
Second Birthday

 

DSCF6050.jpg
Third Birthday
36798548_10211683068212335_8471258112966262784_n
Fourth Birthday – HOME!

Happy 4th birthday, my Salim Babu. I am so grateful for you and the gift of celebrating your first birthday home. I look forward to not only all the birthdays to come, but each and every day of loving you.

Love,

Mommy

One thought on “Fourth and First Birthday

Leave a comment